PRESS RELEASE FLOWERS

## SMALL IS BEAUTIFUL: 35<sup>TH</sup> EDITION

14 December, 2017 - 6 January, 2018 **Private View Wednesday 13 December, 6-8pm** 

Flowers Gallery is pleased to announce the 35th edition of the annual Small is Beautiful exhibition, which will take place at the Cork Street gallery. Small is Beautiful was first established at Flowers Gallery in 1974, inviting selected contemporary artists working in any media to present works with a fixed economy of scale, each piece measuring no more than  $7 \times 9$  inches.

On display will be works by more than 100 artists, offering a rare opportunity to purchase smaller pieces by internationally recognised names and discover new talents working across a range of media.

The exhibition includes work by artists from over twelve countries, including paintings by Korean artist Kwon Kisoo; hand-embroidered photographs by Dutch artist Scarlett Hooft Graafland; and a set of two *Special Issue Trump Stamps* by LA-based British pop art pioneer Derek Boshier.

The works from *Small is Beautiful* will also be available to purchase from Flowers Gallery's online store: (www.flowersgallery.com/shop).

Freya Payne

Aleah Chapin Alison Watt Amanda Edgcombe Andrew Logan Anthony Frost Ayumi Matsuba Bob Edgson Boomoon Bryan Kneale Callum McClure Carl Randall Carol Robertson Carole Hodgson Cedric Christie Claerwen James Clara Drummond Clyde Hopkins David Hepher Derek Boshier Dianne Kaufman Duncan Pickstock Elizabeth Enders Emily Mayer Emily Sparkes Ewan Eason

Francesca Simon

Abigail Lipski

Gary Wragg Gavin Turk Geir Moseid George Blacklock Geraldine Swayne Glen Baxter Glenys Barton Harry Jones Henry Kondracki Hugh O'Donnell Humphrey Ocean Ian Tyson Ishbel Myerscough Jane Ackroyd Jane Edden Janet Taylor Jason Larkin Jiro Osuga John Carter John Kirby John Loker John McLean Jonathan Small Julia Farrer Julie Cockburn

Kate Giles

Kevin Sinnott Kwon Kisoo Kleio Gizeli Lily Koto Olive Lucy Andrews Lucy Jones Lynn Dennison Maggi Hambling Marilyn Hallam Mark Houghton Marten Lange Mary Webb Melanie Comber Michael Benson Michael Wolf Nathan Cohen Naoki Fuku Nicola Hicks Nicolas Sanchez Norman Ackroyd Patrick Hughes Peter Schmersal Philippa Stjernsward Pru Kemball Rachel Heller Rebecca Griffiths Rob Wyn Yates

21 Cork Street London W1S 3LZ

T: (0)20 7439 7766 F: (0)20 7439 7733

press@flowersgallery.com www.flowersgallery.com



Scarlett Hooft Graafland, Haystacks, 2017 Hand Embroidery on C-Type Print

Robert Hardy

Samantha Cary Scarlett Hooft Graafland Shaun McCracken Shawn McGovern Sinead Rice SINN Sophie Smallhorn Stephanie Quayle Stephen Snoddy Suchitra Mattai Susan Pye Susan Wilson Susie Hamilton Terry Setch Tim Lewis Tom Hammick Tom Hunter Tom Lovelace Tory Lawrence Trevor Sutton Vicenta Valenciano Virginia Verran Vithya Truong William Pve









Clockwise from top left:
Derek Boshier, Special Issue Trump Stamp #2, 2017, Ink on paper
Aleah Chapin, Untitled, 2017, Oil on board
Geir Moseid, Double Dealing, 2017
Ishbel Myerscough, Untitled, 2017, Oil on canvas

## **NOTESTO EDITORS**

Opening Hours: Monday - Saturday 10am - 6pm

Image credits: Images © the artist, courtesy of Flowers Gallery